Waiting in Silence

There will be moments in our lives where God would make us wait. We are in excitement and in passion as we wait for the things we’ve prayed for – provisions, reconciliation, healing or restoration. But later, when it becomes too long, we get tired and bored since nothing’s really happened so far, just dull moments resulting to us becoming agitated. It becomes unbearable for us to wait anymore.

For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. -Psalm 62:1 (ESV)

Yes, it’s not easy waiting but in Psalm 62:1, God is telling us to wait in silence. But what’s the meaning of silence in the said verse? The word ‘silence’ there equates to stillness and calmness. Waiting in silence means our souls wait in peace. When we have ourselves wait in silence (in patience and rest), we are telling God that “I am at peace because I know that He is at work; I am depending on Him that’s why I do not fret, with me aware that my own strength is never the solution to turn this situation around and I am still for I know and believe that He is sovereign, for He is God.”

From God comes our salvation, our breakthroughs. Look not in your situation since it’ll give you more frustration but when you look to God, on who God is – good, great and powerful, it’ll give you security and confidence. 🙂

 

 

Heavenly Father, for You I wait alone, for You I wait in silence. I ask for strength and courage, and for your peace to come into my heart and mind. I trust You and Your perfect timing because I believe You’re neither early nor late. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

One thought on “Waiting in Silence

Leave a Reply

