Bona fide cooking: Chicken Adobo w/ baby potatoes

I’m not into cooking. Not really. One reason is I don’t have ‘that’ good sense of taste especially when judging a food if it’s the right amount of saltiness and stuff  and another reason is that I’m kind of lazy in preparing food. *hehe* But yesterday’s air was different! I made food for dinner! Not just a snack but real food called ‘Chicken Adobo’. 😀 Adobo’s one of my favorites and definitely in the list of most Filipinos. I tried cooking it because I was craving and luckily I found a stock of chicken, soy sauce and vinegar in our kitchen. And voila! I was hesitant at first since it was my first time preparing a meal, having to wait for the chicken to be cooked. What I mean is that cooking eggs or hotdogs are fine but when it’s about cooking chicken, fish or pork, that’s a totally different story.

Of course, as a starter, I searched on YouTube and read blogs for the recipe. Most Adobo recipes that appeared were easy to follow but I went with Panlasang Pinoy’s. Thank you to Panlasang Pinoy for helping me out 😉

How to Cook Chicken Adobo with Potatoes

 

Prep time -15 mins  |  Cook time -40 mins  |  Total time – 55 mins

 

Author: Manny
Recipe type: Chicken Recipe
Cuisine: Filipino
Serves: 6 to 8 servings

 

Ingredients
  • 1 kilo chicken, chop into serving pieces
  • 2 medium size potatoes, quartered
  • ¼ cup vinegar
  • ¼ soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. Magic Sarap (or any granuled seasoning)
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt or patis (optional)
  • 1 pc laurel leaf
  • ½ cup water
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium size onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. cooking oil

 

Instructions
  1. Heat oil in a saucepan and saute garlic and onion. After a minute add the chicken.
  2. Stir fry the chicken until most of the liquid has evaporated.
  3. Add in ½ cup of water, soy sauce, vinegar, laurel leaf and black pepper.
  4. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes then add the potatoes.
  5. Simmer again for 10 minutes or until the potatoes are cooked.
  6. Season with magic sarap, sugar and patis or salt (just in case the adobo lacks salt).
  7. Serve hot.

 

A recipe from panlasangpinoymeatrecipes.com

2nd recipe reference at http://panlasangpinoy.com/2009/03/09/filipino-food-chicken-adobo-recipe/

Marinating the chicken in soy sauce and garlic for 1-3 hours would make the chicken rich in flavor. What I didn’t put in the Adobo I made is Magic Sarap or any seasoning. It would still turn out delish with a right amount of salt and pepper. 🙂 Also, I skipped frying the chicken and went to simmering it instead.

How was it?

13435907_10205174286917167_1092284886_n13451222_10205174296357403_1494271053_n

Success! I mean not bad for a first timer like me! Yayyyyy XD My grandfather, elder sister and mom said it was good. (But actually they said it was ‘Okay’ and I take an ‘Okay’ for ‘good’. Haha) I also judged my own cooking, and with all fairness & justice, it was indeed a not-so-bad Chicken Adobo. For me it tasted just fine. What wasn’t fine was the chicken. It got over boiled so it became torn-up. My sister said I should’ve put a bit more salt. I don’t know but for me it was salty already XD Nevertheless, I should listen to her since she’s a much more better cook than me. Yes, she is.

I’m so happy I got to do this :DD

 

 

*credits to the owner of the Featured Image I used 🙂

Leave a Reply

