Perceiving the new ones

Sometimes, I find myself recalling the past wishing that I can be bold as I was, achieve as I’ve achieved, be fearless and confident as I have been. I often look at the past where everything’s been easy and I wanted to be with the people whom I’ve been with again but I realised that these past beautiful moments were hindering me to see the new wonders God has been showing to me each day. I was stuck in the former things. I became less appreciative of what was before me because I appreciate more of what I had back then. I didn’t want to move on because I thought things wouldn’t be any better unlike previously.

I’m not saying that the former treasured moments are not worth remembering but when we face every day and still fix our eyes on yesterday, the meaning of today will be less meaningful as it really is because all the relevance we should’ve put at the present is being put in the past. Reminiscing is a great thing but living in it isn’t anymore to the point where I admit to have missed welcoming new and better things.

These were revealed to me when my family and I were talking about our faith goals this 2016. God told my eldest sister that “how can God fill your barn with new beautiful things when your barn is still filled up with the old beautiful things you cherish? We need to let go.”

God told me to let go of the past – my struggles, achievements and wonderful memories that kept me from the new ones.

I might not be brave, bold and fearless as I was or achieve as I did but I can be braver, bolder, and more fearless in a new way and achieve new things today which would indeed be different from before, even greater. Times are changing and there are many possibilities to come, and I believe God has already prepared them.

Surrender. Pray. Believe.

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old.
Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

-Isaiah 43:18,19

Leave a Reply

