The Love of God: Not Based on Your Discipleship

For these past days, I had been struggling a lot about the discipleship part in my life. Thinking that the more people listening as I share the gospel, my value as a person who leads would be on another level then another then another. I was so pressured about what was going on around me… As I look, I wondered why can’t I be as effective as they are? I felt like I was going down and down to the depths of the sea and there they were, going up, floating to the surface… Each day became so hard for me because I was being attacked by my own thoughts and by the lies of the enemy. I was so insecure that I felt nugatory.  I was proud that I thought I should be at the mountain’s peak.

But going back to the love of God, to the cross, it brings me back to my true identity and security, it brings me back to my knees.

In Matthew 3:16,17 – “The moment Jesus came up out of the baptismal waters, the skies opened up and he saw God’s Spirit – it looked like a dove – descending and landing on him. And along with the Spirit, a voice: “This is my Son, chosen and marked by my love, delight of my life.””

I remembered this verse because it was used in one of Joel Osteen’s preaching. In this verse, as Jesus got baptized, we can see that God loves and delights in His Son. And this was even before Jesus started his ministry in Galilee. …God loves us from the very beginning even before we started doing things. God loves us plainly because of who He is and not because of the things we have done.

Focusing on Jesus alone helps a lot because our eyes only see Him, and with that, we are not in the position of minding any thing or anyone that is around us. What others have and do has nothing to do with you for every person in this world has his/her own race to run.

God is fair and has no favoritism. He loves us all the same. He is faithful and He never changes no matter what 🙂

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” -Hebrews 13:8

One God. One Spirit. One purpose. All for the glory of God.

